Principal Conductor & Artistic Director

Dr Anthony Clarke

Hailed by critics as “a truly wonderful conductor”, by colleagues as “an outstanding musician” and by students as “inspirational”. Australian born Anthony Clarke has developed a reputation as a charismatic conductor, performer and educator. He is renowned for his thoughful insights and ability to enthuse orchestras and audiences alike with terms such as “energetic”, “insightful”, “passionate”, “intuitive” and “exquisite” often being used to describe his performances.

His concert schedule includes engagements in Australia, Europe, China and the UK and covers a diverse range of genres and audiences including TV and radio broadcasts, subscription series concerts, New Years Eve gala concerts, world premières, education and community concerts, as well as concerto and recital soloist. He has collaborated with esteemed colleagues such as Sir Charles Mackerras, José Carreras, members of the Australia Ensemble, and with popular artists such as Barbara Streisand and Michael Crawford.

In conjunction with conducting and performing, Anthony has also developed a reputation as an engaging educator, capable of opening the world of music to the trained and untrained music lover. As director and educator he has held positions at prominent institutions within Australia, such as Lecturer in Conducting at the University of Sydney, Conservatorium of Music, and has been guest professor at several institutions in China. Of particular importance have been his associations with Maestro Imre Palló, Maestro Alfonso Ghedin and Professor Jan Sedivka.

As an academic, Anthony achieved considerable success when in 2012 he completed his Doctorate where his research into score modification - Realising the Ninth, Werktreue and the evolution of score modification with specific reference to the performance and recorded history of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony in D minor, Op. 125 - attracted considerable interest. During his periods of study Anthony has been awarded numerous prizes including the Frank Hutchens Memorial Prize and the Keith Noake Memorial Prize for the most outstanding graduating student. Of special note is an honourable mention by the Centre for Australian Cultural Studies for outstanding contributions to Australian culture in the performing arts.